image image image
A Culture of Excellence Welcome to the New Prairie United School Corporation Website. Your interest in the NPUSC is welcomed and appreciated. All functions of our school corporation are driven by a “Culture of Excellence” expectation as we strive daily to effectively serve the students, families, and various stakeholders of our school community. We are also proud of our standing as a high – performing district. 
Read the Full Story
NPUSC Earns College Board Recognition November 13, 2013

The College Board is pleased to congratulate New Prairie United School Corporation for being named to the 4th Annual Advanced Placement (AP) District Honor Roll.
Read the Full Story
Sign up for School Messenger
To receive New Prairie messages through the web, texting, or your phone ... sign up for School Messenger Contacts here.

Read the Full Story

Congratulations to the Robotics Team

FIRST robotics team 2197, Las Pumas, New Prairie High School, was part of the three-team alliance that captured the championship at the first ever Purdue District Competition held at the Co-Rec Center on the campus of Purdue University from March 19-21, 2015.

The first-ever championship for New Prairie scored them enough points to qualify for the Indiana State Championship held at Ben Davis High School from April 2 through April 4, 2015. Invitations were extended to the top 32 teams in the state. Ten teams will advance to the world championships in St. Louis on April 22-25, 2015.

Team 2197 includes juniors Emily Hobart, Colt Houseknecht and Ben Meadows along with sophomores Lucas Allegrette, Max Bauer, Nick Bertolan, Baylee Carpenter, James Cochran, Alex Crawford, Rachel Devereaux, Malinda Jack, Josh Leiter, Reid Onnink, Brennan Shank, Kristen Smith and Brett Stevens. Freshman Evan Williams rounds out the team. The mentors include Sam Tillich (Honeywell), Dan Sales (California Analytical Instruments), Larry Crawford (I/N Tek I/N Kote), Jon Houseknecht (Sunset Septic and Excavation), Holly Hauck (NP biology teacher) and Frank Hobart (NP engineering teacher). Considerable assistance was provided by Ryan Jones, NP art teacher, and Robyn Kubsch, NP FACS teacher.

New Prairie Show Choirs Impress at ISSMA State Finals

March 24th, 2015

The New Prairie High School Swing Choirs, back-up band, and tech crew traveled to Plainfield High School in Plainfield, IN for the ISSMA State Finals on March 21st, 2015. This competition was open to the top nine scoring women’s and mixed choirs in the state of Indiana, from schools with an enrollment of less than 1600 students. Both groups gave it their all; in the end, Sing-Sensation walked away in 6th place, and Innovation secured a spot in 5th. Both choirs placed one ranking higher than they did the previous year, at their ISSMA State debut. Altogether, around 75 NPHS students were involved, and we are so proud of their efforts to uphold a “Culture of Excellence” in New Prairie’s Music Department.


The New Prairie United School Corporation has announced its updated make-up day schedule due to recent inclement weather cancellations on January 9, and February 2, 12, 19, and March 3, 2015.  All NPUSC students will now attend school on March 13, May 28, 29, and June 1, 2, 2015 per the 2014-15 school calendar.

Congratulations David Walbring


giving award

Senior football player, David Walbring, named as the Phillip Eskew Mental Attitude Award Winner for the Class 4-A for 2014 Season.

New Prairie Middle School Lead & Seed Youth Coalition

The New Prairie United School Corporation is pleased to announce the following awards presented to New Prairie Middle School.

On Wednesday, October 1, the New Prairie Middle School Lead & Seed Youth Coalition was selected by the La Porte County Drug Free Partnership as the 2014 Drug Free Communities Youth Coalition of the Year for all of La Porte County. This recognition is a result of their comprehensive ongoing Lead & Seed efforts to prevent or reduce youth substance abuse.

In addition, New Prairie Middle School student, Tyler Bowen was selected as Youth Coalition Leader of the Year for his leadership efforts with the New Prairie Middle School’s Lead & Seed Youth Coalition. Tyler is an 8th grader who has been actively engaged in this program for the past three years. Tyler’s contributions to his school and the La Porte County community are impressive and it is apparent why he was selected from youth throughout the county for his contributions in preventing or reducing substance abuse.

Finally, Mrs. Ruth Trujillo, New Prairie Middle School Counselor was selected as the 2014 La Porte County Prevention Leader of the Year from throughout all of La Porte County. Ruth leads the school’s Lead and Seed Program.

School Status

Loading Weather Info...
School is Open
School is Open
Wind Speed  
Dew Point  

NPUSC School Messenger Updates

Below is the most recent School Messenger message. If none appear, there has not been a new message in the last 30 days.

School in Session 3-13-15

11 Mar 2015 | 6:01 pm

This is a reminder for students and parents that school will be open and in session on Friday, March 13, 2015.

Upcoming Events

Contact NPUSC

New Prairie United School Corp.
5327 N. Cougar Rd.
New Carlisle, IN  46552

Jim Dermody, Supt.
Tel1:  574-654-7273
Tel2:  219-778-2814
Fax:   574-654-7274

Web Site Translator

Vision Statement

The New Prairie United School Corporation, in collaboration with its community, provides students with a quality education that develops responsible citizens as life long learners.

Mission Statement

Our mission is to utilize current best practices and the resources of our community to achieve the Vision of the New Prairie United School Corporation.


To access the transportation system portal, click this link.  The username is GUEST and the password is GUEST.